Worried about the recent Facebook data breach scandal? Too tired to run through the security settings and just want to remove your Facebook account completely?
We’ve included a step-by-step guide on how to delete your Facebook account permanently – different from simply deactivating your account online. Follow these instructions to permanently remove your Facebook account forever.
Here’s some notes you might want to read before you go ahead with deleting your account:
- Facebook doesn’t delete your account immediately. Instead, it delays the deletion of your account just in case you change your mind. If you log back into your account a few days after deleting it, Facebook will reactivate your account automatically.
- Once you delete your account, you won’t be able to log back in (that’s kind of the whole point!)
- Facebook stores certain data from your account such as comments on posts, photos and private messages. These will remain even after your account is deleted (for example, your comments may still appear on your friend’s profiles).
- Log records may still be stored on Facebook’s databases after your account is deleted, but Facebook assures this data is not labelled with personal identifiers and should therefore remain anonymous.
- Just remember it can take a full 90 days for Facebook to completely delete your account.
- If you’re unsure, you can simply tighten your privacy and security settings to control how much data Facebook can access and who can view your data publicly.
STEP 1 – Backup your data (desktop version only)
- Log into your Facebook account. Click the ‘down arrow’ at the top right of the home page. Click on ‘Settings’.
- At the bottom of the ‘General Account Settings’ there’s some small text which says ‘Download a copy of your Facebook data’. Click on this link and select ‘Start My Archive’ to begin downloading your data to your laptop or computer.
- The backup of your account data is complete.
STEP 2 – Delete your account (desktop and mobile)
- Still logged into your Facebook account, follow this link to delete your account.
- You will then be asked to answer a security question before confirming.
- Follow the instructions to delete your account.
- Resist logging back into your account after you submit the request to delete, otherwise your request will be cancelled and you account will remain active.
Remember, if you’re unsure about deleting your Facebook account you can simply ‘deactivate’ your account while you decide (Settings > General Settings > Manage Account > Deactivate Your Account). Deactivating your account will temporarily disable your profile but still allow you to log into your account.